Nationally Recognised Training (NRT)
Where you see ‘NRT' after the name of a course this indicates that it is Nationally Recognised Training and falls under the Australian Qualifications Framework.

TAFE NSW awards Certificates I to IV, Diplomas, Advanced Diplomas and Graduate Certificates which fit within the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF). TAFE NSW also offers Statements of Attainment, Accredited Short Courses and TAFE Statements.


Diplomas and Advanced Diplomas

These prepare you for work that requires a broad range of complex technical skills and in-depth knowledge. Diploma and Advanced Diploma courses often include training in management, planning and evaluation and budgeting and finance, and equip you with the knowledge and skills of your chosen vocational area.



Certificates range from level I to level IV. Certificate qualifications usually link different levels of skills within an occupation. For example, Certificates I, II, III and IV in Horticulture.

Certificate IV

Certificate IV qualifications usually teach supervisory skills and advanced technical skills, which may build upon existing skills acquired in the workplace, a Certificate III course or equivalent.

Certificate III

These courses are roughly the same level as the former trade certificate courses. Certificate III qualifications teach well-developed skills in a wide range of occupational areas.

Certificate II

Certificate II qualifications include traineeships with an on-the-job component. They provide preparation for employment and/or apprenticeships.

Certificate I

In Certificate I qualifications you will learn the foundation skills required in some industries. These are often part of a suite of courses through which you can progress.


Statement of Attainment
These comprise modules and/or units of competence from a nationally recognised Certificate, Diploma or Advanced Diploma. They introduce you to a new area of work, or can help you to gain additional skills in your current occupation. Your Statement of Attainment can be used as credit transfer into a higher-level TAFE NSW course. A selected study program allows you to choose to complete your own special interest combination of modules or competencies from a major course, and TAFE NSW will provide a statement listing the modules and units of competency you have achieved.


Accredited short courses
These training courses are usually designed for a specific purpose. They are stand-alone courses that are not usually linked to a major course.


The AQF (Australian Qualifications Framework) is a nationally agreed framework which identifies the qualifications available in three sectors of education: schools, vocational education and training, and higher education. AQF qualifications are used throughout Australia and have been developed in conjunction with both industry and the community. They help you move through and between different education levels and systems by specifying and standardising the outcomes achieved. Click here for more information about Australian Qualifications Framework.